The African Studies Review awards prizes to recognize the achievements in scholarship of African studies scholars. In 2001, the Board of Directors of the African Studies Association established an annual prize, the Graduate Student Paper Prize, for the best graduate student paper presented at the previous year’s Annual Meeting. The winning essay is submitted to the African Studies Review for expedited peer review.

In 2020, the African Studies Review expanded its prizes to include the ASR Best Africa-Based Dissertation Award and the ASR Prize for Best Africa-focused Anthology or Edited Collection.

2020 African Studies Review Committee on Prizes
Benjamin Talton, Temple University (Chair)
Cajetan Iheka, Yale University
Sean Redding, Amherst College
Rhiannon Stephens, Columbia University

Graduate Student Paper Prize

African Studies Review Best Africa-Based Dissertation Award

African Studies Review Prize for Best Africa-Focused Anthology or Edited Collection