What Do you need !?

African Studies Review Best Africa-Focused Anthology or Edited Collection Prize

The African Studies Review invites nominations for the ASR Best Africa-focused Anthology or Edited Collection Prize, sponsored by Cambridge University Press. This award recognizes editors and contributors to an anthology of original scholarship, cohesive in structure and interdisciplinary in nature, that advances African studies in new theoretical and/or methodological directions. The award recognizes the editor(s) and also the contributors as a whole. In making its selection the prize committee will pay particular attention to significance, originality, and quality of writing, and its contribution to advancing debates in African studies. The prize-winning editor(s) will receive a plaque, $1,000 thanks to the generous support of Cambridge University Press, and will be honored at the ASA annual meeting.


Edited scholarly works published in any country, in any language, in the previous calendar year (2024 nominations must have a 2023 copyright) are eligible for the award. The award is open to all African studies titles irrespective of publication house, and must be sent by the publisher directly. For the purposes of this prize, scholarly works will be understood broadly to encompass those works informed by an understanding of the scholarship in a given field or fields.


To nominate an Africa-focused Anthology or Edited Collection, please fill out the Google form and send a letter indicating the publisher you represent, address, email address, telephone, the title(s) nominated, and one e-book to managingeditor@africanstudiesreview.org. If you are unable to provide e-books, please contact managingeditor@africanstudiesreview.org for further instructions.

African Studies Review Prix de la meilleure anthologie ou collection éditée portant sur l’Afrique; Prémio da African Studies Review para a Melhor Antologia ou Obra Coletiva Dedicada a África

2024 Committee



April 15

Past Winners

2023: B Camminga and John Marnell, Queer and Trans African Mobilities: Migration, Asylum, and Diaspora (Bloomsbury, 2022).

2022: Adekeye Adebajo, The Pan-African Pantheon: Prophets, Poets, and Philosophers (Manchester University Press, 2021).

2021: Samantha Kelly, A Companion to Medieval Ethiopia and Eritrea (Brill, 2020).

2020:  Oluwakemi M. Balogun, Lisa Gilman, Melissa Graboyes, and Habib Iddrisu, Africa Every Day: Fun, Leisure, and Expressive Culture on the Continent (Ohio University Press, 2019).