Carolyn A. Brown

Brown Photo

President – Serving through 2021

Department of History
Rutgers University
New Brunswick, NJ

Carolyn A. Brown Bio

Ousseina D. Alidou


Vice President – Serving through 2021
Professor, Linguistics and African Studies
Department of African, Middle Eastern, and South Asian Languages and Literatures
Rutgers University
New Brunswick, NJ

Ousseina D. Alidou Bio

Ato Quayson


Past President – Serving through 2021
Department of English
Stanford University
Stanford, CA
Ato Quayson Bio

Akosua Adomako Ampofo

Ampofo Photo

Serving through 2022
Institute of African Studies
University of Ghana, Legon
Accra, Ghana

Akosua Adomako Ampofo Bio

Nana Akua Anyidoho

Nana Akua Anyidoho photo

Serving through 2023
Center for Policy Studies
University of Ghana
Accra, Ghana

Nana Akua Anyidoho Bio

Leonardo Arriola


Serving through 2021
Associate Professor, Political Science
Director, Center for African Studies
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA

Leonardo Arriola Bio

Didier Gondola

Gondola Photo

Serving through 2022
Department of History
Indiana University School of Liberal Arts
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
Indianapolis, IN

Didier Gondola Bio

Abdoulaye Gueye


Serving through 2023

School of Sociological and Anthropological Studies
FSS Building, University of Ottawa
120 University Place
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Abdoulaye Gueye Bio

Adeline Masquelier

Adeline Masquelier

Serving through 2023
Department of Anthropology
Tulane University
New Orleans, LA

Adeline Masquelier Bio

Dumi Moyo

Dumi Photo

Serving through 2022
Dean’s Office
Faculty of the Humanities
University of Johannesburg
Johannesburg, South Africa

Dumi Moyo Bio

Sylvester Okwunodu Ogbechie

Ogbechie Picture 2018

Serving through 2021
History of Art and Architecture
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106

Sylvester Ogbechie Bio

20111130 Faculty_0068

Lahra Smith

Serving through 2021
Institute for the Study of International Migration
Harris Building
3300 Whitehaven Street, N.W.
Washington D.C. 20007

Lahra Smith Bio

Mary Osirim


Treasurer – Serving through 2021
Office of the Provost
Bryn Mawr College
101 North Merion Ave
Bryn Mawr, PA 19010

Mary Osirim Bio

Yusuf Serunkuma Karuja


Emerging Scholar Representative – Serving through 2020

Yusuf Serunkuma Kajura Bio