November 2015

The African Studies Association (ASA) is pleased to announce the 2015 award winners. The ASA Awards Ceremony was held on the evening of Saturday, November 21st 2015 at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina in San Diego, CA. The ASA heartily congratulates the following individuals and organizations:

Distinguished Africanist Award- Professor Goran Hyden
The ASA Distinguished Africanist Award was established in the 1980’s, to recognize and honor scholars who have contributed a lifetime record of outstanding scholarship in their respective field of African studies and service to the Africanist community. This year, the award goes to Professor Goran Hyden, for his considerable contributions to the study of Africa.

 Graduate Student Paper Prize- Kathleen Klaus
In 2001, the ASA Board of Directors established an annual prize for the best graduate student paper presented at the ASA Annual Meeting in the previous year. The 2015 award goes to Kathleen Klaus, Buffett Postdoctoral Fellow, Northwestern University, for her paper, “Contentious Land Claims and the Non-Escalation of Violence: Evidence from Kenya’s Coast Region.”

Gretchen Walsh Book Donation Award
The African Studies Association offers an annual grant program in collaboration with the Africana Librarians Council to assist book donation projects with shipping costs to send books to African libraries and schools. This year, two grants were awarded to: Liberian Schools Project, Elizabeth Johnson, and Pagus: Africa, Ghana.

ASA Public Service Award
The ASA Public Service Award honors those who have been long-standing contributors to the ASA’s mission and to African Studies, through non-academic contributions. The ASA is excited to announce the following 2015 recipients:

Ali B. Ali-Dinar

Gillian Berchowitz

Barbara Brown

Kenneth W. Harrow

Royal Air Maroc-ASA Student Travel Award
The Royal Air Maroc-African Studies Association Student Travel Award aims to increase the exchange of students and ideas between Africa and the United States, and to award outstanding scholarship by future scholars of African Studies. The award consists of tickets for round-trip travel between the United States and any Royal Air Maroc Africa destination, and it is given to students of African Studies. This year the following 17 individuals received the award: 

Abbesi Akhamie

Abdul-Gafaru Tahiru

Allen Xiao

Emily Bishop

Frank Blibo

Fiacre Bienvenu

Kingsley Antwi-Boasiako

Kpedetin D. Oke

Lauren Honig

Mamadou Dia

Margaret Ariotti

Michelle Reddy

Neuvic Kalmar Malembanie

Tarek Ziadna

Tesfaye Abebe

William Narteh Gblerkpor

Yoonbin Ha

Bethwell A. Ogot Book Prize
The Bethwell A. Ogot Book Prize of the African Studies Association is awarded annually at the ASA Annual Meeting to the author of the best book on East African Studies published in the previous calendar year. This year, the Bethwell A. Ogot Book Prize was awarded to J.J. Carney, Creighton University, for his book, Rwanda Before the Genocide: Catholic Politics and Ethnic Discourse in the Late Colonial Era (Oxford University Press, 2014).

Melville J. Herskovits Award

The ASA presents the Herskovits Award to the author of the most important scholarly work in African studies published in English during the preceding year. This year, the Melville J. Herskovits Award was awarded to: 

Abena Dove Osseo-Asare
For her book entitled, Bitter Roots: The Search for Healing Plants in Africa (University of Chicago Press, 2014)

Congratulations again to all of our winners and we look forward to seeing everyone next year in Washington, DC!!