November, 2013

The African Studies Association (ASA) is pleased to announce the 2013 award winners. The awards were given at the ASA Awards Ceremony and gala event, held on the evening of Saturday, November 23 2013 at the Marriott Baltimore Waterfront Hotel in Baltimore, Maryland. The ASA heartily congratulates the following individuals and organizations:

 Distinguished Africanist Award- Dr. Allen Isaacman

The ASA Distinguished Africanist Award was established in the 1980’s, to recognize and honor scholars who have contributed a lifetime record of outstanding scholarship in their respective field of African studies and service to the Africanist community. This year, the award goes to Dr. Allen Isaacman, University of Minnesota, for his considerable contributions to African studies.

 Graduate Student Paper Prize- Jamie Miller

In 2001, the ASA Board of Directors established an annual prize for the best graduate student paper presented at the ASA Annual Meeting in the previous year. The 2013 award goes to Jamie Miller, PhD candidate, Cambridge University, visiting Fox International Fellow, Yale University, for his paper, “Yes Minister: Reassessing South Africa’s Intervention in the Angolan Civil War, 1975.”

 Gretchen Walsh Book Donation Award

The African Studies Association offers an annual grant program in collaboration with the Africana Librarians Council to assist book donation projects with shipping costs to send books to African libraries and schools. This year, four grants were awarded to: St. Joseph’s/Hope Connecting Hearts, Inc., Nigeria; St. Mark’s Welfare Committee, Malawi; Niombato Library Project, Senegal; and the Michigan State Partnership, Zimbabwe.

 ASA Public Service Award- Lynne Rienner and Kassahun Checole

The ASA launched a new award this year, the ASA Public Service Award. This award will honor those who have been long-standing contributors to the ASA’s mission and to the field of African Studies through non-academic contributions. The ASA is excited to announce that two individuals are the inaugural recipients of the ASA Public Service Award, and they are Lynne Rienner of Lynne Rienner Publishers, and Kassahun Checole of Africa World Press.

 Royal Air Maroc-ASA Student Travel Award

Also new this year, the Royal Air Maroc-African Studies Association Student Travel Award aims to increase the exchange of students and ideas between Africa and the United States, and to award outstanding scholarship by future scholars of African Studies. The award consists of tickets for round-trip travel between the United States and any Royal Air Maroc Africa destination, and it is given to students of African Studies. This year the following 10 individuals received the award: Caitlin CarrollChipo DendereYasmine El BaggariHicham El MajdiHewan GirmaMustapah Hashim KurfiCheikh Tidiane LoMaymoud NaglaaHelen Olsen; and Katherine Tennis.

 Paul Hair Prize- Karin Barber

The Paul Hair Prize is presented in odd-numbered years to recognize the best critical edition or translation into English of primary source materials on Africa published during the preceding two years, and is administered by the Association for the Preservation and Publication of African Historical Sources (APPAHS). This year, the Paul Hair Prize was awarded to Karin Barber, University of Birmingham, for Print Culture and the First Yoruba Novel: I.B. Thomas’s ‘Life Story of Me, Segilola’ and Other Texts (Brill Publishers, 2012).

 Bethwell A. Ogot Book Prize- James R. Brennan

The Bethwell A. Ogot Book Prize of the African Studies Association is awarded annually at the ASA Annual Meeting to the author of the best book on East African Studies published in the previous calendar year. This year, the Bethwell A. Ogot Book Prize was awarded to James R. Brennan, University of Illinois, for his book, Taifa: Making Nation and Race in Urban Tanzania (Ohio University Press, 2012).

 Melville J. Herskovits Award- Derek R. Peterson

The ASA presents the Herskovits Award to the author of the most important scholarly work in African studies published in English during the preceding year. This year, the Melville J. Herskovits Award was awarded to Derek R. Peterson, University of Michigan, for his book, Ethnic Patriotism and the East African Revival: A History of Dissent, c. 1935-1972 (Cambridge University Press, 2012).

Congratulations go out again to all the winners, and the ASA looks forward to receiving nominations for the 2014 awards.