November, 2014

The African Studies Association (ASA) is pleased to announce the 2014 award winners. The awards at the ASA Awards Ceremony, held on the evening of Saturday, November 22nd 2014 at the JW Marriott Hotel in Indianapolis, Indiana. The ASA heartily congratulates the following individuals and organizations:











Distinguished Africanist Award- Professor Boubacar Barry
The ASA Distinguished Africanist Award was established in the 1980’s, to recognize and honor scholars who have contributed a lifetime record of outstanding scholarship in their respective field of African studies and service to the Africanist community. This year, the award goes to Professor Boubacar Barry, Universite Cheikh Anta Diop, for his considerable contributions to the study of Africa.



Graduate Student Paper Prize- Catherine Porter
In 2001, the ASA Board of Directors established an annual prize for the best graduate student paper presented at the ASA Annual Meeting in the previous year. The 2014 award goes to Catherine Porter, PhD candidate, Cambridge University, for her paper, “Bound and Unbound Identities:The Reconstruction of Katanga’s Nationhood Struggle.”





Gretchen Walsh Book Donation Award
The African Studies Association offers an annual grant program in collaboration with the Africana Librarians Council to assist book donation projects with shipping costs to send books to African libraries and schools. This year, two grants were awarded to: Mountaintop/Kono Library Project, and Creating Corner Libraries

ASA Public Service Award
The ASA Public Service Award honors those who have been long-standing contributors to the ASA’s mission and to African Studies, through non-academic contributions. The ASA is excited to announce the following 2014 recipients:

Indiana University Press

Association of Concerned African Scholars

Africa Focus and Bill Minter

Professor Aili Tripp

Royal Air Maroc-ASA Student Travel Award
The Royal Air Maroc-African Studies Association Student Travel Award aims to increase the exchange of students and ideas between Africa and the United States, and to award outstanding scholarship by future scholars of African Studies. The award consists of tickets for round-trip travel between the United States and any Royal Air Maroc Africa destination, and it is given to students of African Studies. This year the following 14 individuals received the award: 

Richard Akum
School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London

Nana Abena Dansowaa Amoah
Indiana University

Yaa Oparebea Ampofo
Yale University

Samuel Anderson

Raymond Boly
McDaniel College

Matthew T. Claeys
University of Ghana

Justine Davis
University of California, Berkeley

Mercy Itohan Idumwonyi
Rice University

Sao-Kpato Max-Kyne
Howard University

Nikhita Obeegadoo
Stanford University

Naa Ameley Quaye
University of Oregon

Herbert Muhammad Abdur Rahim
Howard University

Kwabena Sarfo-Panin
Earlham College

Sarah Sharp
Howard University

Kwame Adovor Tsikudo
University of Minnesota

Bethwell A. Ogot Book Prize- Shane Doyle
The Bethwell A. Ogot Book Prize of the African Studies Association is awarded annually at the ASA Annual Meeting to the author of the best book on East African Studies published in the previous calendar year. This year, the Bethwell A. Ogot Book Prize was awarded to Shane Doyle, University of Leeds, for his book, Before HIV: Sexuality, Fertility and Mortality in East Africa, 1900-1980 (Oxford University Press, 2013).




Melville J. Herskovits Award

The ASA presents the Herskovits Award to the author of the most important scholarly work in African studies published in English during the preceding year. This year, the Melville J. Herskovits Award was awarded to: 

Allen and Barbara Isaacman 
For their book entitled, Dams, Displacement and the Delusion of Development: Cahora Bassa and its Legacies in Mozambique, 1965-2007 (Ohio University Press, 2013)







Carola Lentz
For her book which is entitled, Land, Mobility and Belonging in West Africa (Indiana University Press, 2013)







Conover-Porter Award

The Conover-Porter Award is awarded to outstanding Africa-related reference works, bibliographies or bibliographic essays published in any country, separately or as part of a larger work during 2011, 2012, or 2013. Terry A. Barringer was awarded the 2014 Award for editing Africa Bibliography, published by Cambridge University Press.

Congratulations again to all of our winners and we look forward to seeing everyone next year in San Diego!!