Dear ASA Members and Friends,

I am pleased to announce the results of the 2018 election of the ASA Board of Directors. The following members will join the board in November 2018.

Vice President-Elect: 
Ato Quayson, University Professor and Director, Centre for Diaspora and Transnational Studies and Professor of English, University of Toronto and NYU

Board of Directors Elect:
Sylvester Ogbechie Professor of African and African Diaspora Art and Visual Culture; Contemporary Art; Cultural Patrimony Research, and Critical Theory, UC Santa Barbara
Lahra Smith, Associate Professor in African Studies Department of the Walsh School of Foreign Service and the Government Department, Georgetown University
Leonardo Arriola  Associate Professor of Political Science and Director of the Center for African Studies, University of California, Berkeley

Emerging Scholar Representative Elect:
Yusuf Serenkuma Kajura, Ph.D. Graduate Student, Makerere Institute of Social Research, Makerere University

On behalf of Jean Allman, President; Maria Grosz Ngate, Vice President; members of the ASA Board of Directors and the Secretariat, I extend our heartfelt congratulations! We look forward to working with the new board members to ensure the continued success of ASA.

This message would not be complete without expressing sincere appreciation to those ASA members who ran for office and were not elected. Their graciousness and high regard for ASA are evident and valued.

Suzanne Moyer Baazet
Executive Director
African Studies Association