December 2016

The African Studies Association (ASA) is pleased to announce the 2016 award winners. The ASA Awards Ceremony was held on the evening of Saturday, December 3, 2016 at the Marriott Wardman Park in Washington, DC. The ASA heartily congratulates the following individuals and organizations:

Distinguished Africanist Award
The ASA Distinguished Africanist Award was established in the 1980’s, to recognize and honor scholars who have contributed a lifetime record of outstanding scholarship in their respective field of African studies and service to the Africanist community. This year, the award goes to Professor Sara Berry, for her considerable contributions to the study of Africa.

Graduate Student Paper Prize
In 2001, the ASA Board of Directors established an annual prize for the best graduate student paper presented at the ASA Annual Meeting in the previous year. The 2016 award goes to Moritz Nagel, Northwestern University, for his paper, “Precolonial Segmentation Revisited: Initiation Societies, Talking Drums and the Ngondo Festival in the Cameroons.”

Gretchen Walsh Book Donation Award
The African Studies Association offers an annual grant program in collaboration with the Africana Librarians Council to assist book donation projects with shipping costs to send books to African libraries and schools. This year the grant was awarded to: Goshen College and Macha School of Nursing Project, Zambia

ASA Public Service Award
The ASA Public Service Award honors those who have been long-standing contributors to the ASA’s mission and to African Studies, through non-academic contributions. The ASA is excited to announce the 2016 recipient is Brenda Randolph.

Royal Air Maroc-ASA Student Travel Award
The Royal Air Maroc-African Studies Association Student Travel Award aims to increase the exchange of students and ideas between Africa and the United States, and to award outstanding scholarship by future scholars of African Studies. The award consists of tickets for round-trip travel between the United States and any Royal Air Maroc Africa destination, and it is given to students of African Studies. This year the following 19 individuals received the award:

Shamilla Amulega
Olajumoke Ayandele
Benedine Azanu
Rebecca Yvonne Bayeck
Clovis Bergere
Emilie Diouf
Bryan Dougan
Mokake Flavius
Paul Grant
Katie J. Hickerson
Byrd Javoen
Natalie Letsa
Madina Thiam
Moustapha Ndour
Adeola Oni-Orisan
Andriamanana Rijasoa
Scott Ross
Sana Saidykhan
Samantha Stevens-Hall

Bethwell A. Ogot Book Prize
The Bethwell A. Ogot Book Prize of the African Studies Association is awarded annually at the ASA Annual Meeting to the author of the best book on East African Studies published in the previous calendar year. This year, the Bethwell A. Ogot Book Prize was awarded to Elena Vezzadini, Institut des Mondes Africains, Paris 1 – Panthéon Sorbonne, for her book, Lost Nationalism: Revolution, Memory & Anti-Colonial Resistance in Sudan (James Currey, 2015).

Melville J. Herskovits Award
The ASA presents the Herskovits Award to the author of the most important scholarly work in African studies published in English during the preceding year. This year, the Melville J. Herskovits Award was awarded to:

Chika Okeke-Agulu
For his book entitled, Postcolonial Modernism: Art and Decolonization in Twentieth-Century Nigeria (Duke University Press, 2015)

Conover-Porter Award
The Conover-Porter Award is presented in even-numbered years to recognize outstanding Africa-related reference works, bibliographies, or bibliographic essays published in any country during the preceding two years. The 2016 Conover-Porter Award goes to Charles C. Stewart with Sidi Ahmed ould Ahmed Salim, with the assistance of Mohamed Nouhi, Babacar Mbengue, Abdel Wedoud Ould Cheikh, and Bruce S. Hall, for The Arabic Literature of Africa Vol. 5, The Writings of Mauritania and the Western Sahara (Brill, 2015).

Congratulations again to all of our winners and we look forward to seeing everyone next year in Chicago!!