Tickets for the 2015 Women’s Caucus Luncheon and Lecture will be available for purchase on-site in San Diego. This year’s speaker will be Margaret “Peg” Snyder. Her lecture, “Four Decisive Decades: The Birth and Growth of a Global Women’s Movement,” will mark the fortieth anniversary of the first global women’s conference in Mexico City and the subsequent founding of the United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM), as well as the formal founding of the African Studies Association’s Women’s Caucus. Margaret “Peg” Snyder is founding director of UNIFEM, now expanded as UN Women. She served as director from 1978-89. Her many contributions to development work include co-founding the African Centre for Women, UNECA, and serving as its director from 1971 to 1978, co-founding the Sirleaf Market Women’s Fund, and serving as treasurer of the Green Belt Movement International. After UN retirement she was a Visiting Fellow at Princeton University (1992-93) and a Fulbright scholar in Women and Gender Studies at Makerere University (1995-96). Her authored or co-authored books include Transforming Development: Women, Poverty and Politics (a history of UNIFEM), African Women and Development: A History, and Above the Odds: a Decade of Change for Ugandan Women Entrepreneurs. Her PhD is from the University of Dar es Salaam. Peg Snyder has been a long-time supporter of the Women’s Caucus, and the Women’s Caucus’ annual Aidoo-Snyder Book Prize is co-named in her honor.

At this year’s luncheon, the 2015 Aidoo-Snyder Book Prize will be presented to Abosede George, for her book Making Modern Girls: A history of girlhood, labor, and social development in 20th century colonial Lagos (Athens, OH: Ohio University Press, New African Histories series, 2014.) Honorable Mention has been awarded to Jennie E. Burnet for her book Genocide Lives within Us: Women, Memory and Silence in Rwanda, (Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 2012.)

The luncheon will be held on Saturday, Nov. 21, 12:30-2:00pm. Lunch tickets are available for $32. Tickets are now only available on-site. If you have any questions about the Women’s Caucus, please contact Nwando Achebe ([email protected]) or Judith Van Allen ([email protected]), Women’s Caucus Co-Convenors.

The above photo was taken at the 2005 Women’s Caucus Luncheon, when the Aidoo-Snyder Book Prize was inaugurated. In the front row are Ama Ata Aidoo and Peg Snyder, the two namesakes for the Book Prize. In the second row, left to right, is Lynda Day (2005 Treasurer), Akosua Adomako Ampofo (2005 Co-Convener), Nana Benjiwaa Home (past Co-Convener), and Mary Osirim (2005 Co-Convener).