The Bashorun MKO Abiola Lecture was established in 1992 with a generous grant from the late Bashorun M K O Abiola. This award is given to a senior African scholar, to present a lecture at the ASA Annual Meeting. Selections are made by the ASA Board of Directors.

If you wish to support the Abiola Lecture with a donation, you can do so here.

Abiola Lecture award recipients:

Achille Mbembe, Knowledge Futures and the State of the Humanities

2015: Salikoko S. Mufwene, Africa and Globalization from a Linguistic Perspective
2014: Francis Abiola Irele, African Studies as Discipline and Vocation
2013: Salah Hassan, Rethinking Cosmopolitanism: Is ‘Afropolitan’ the Answer?
2012: Ama Ata Aidoo, Clapping with one Hand, or a Fundamentally Flawed Management of Post-Colonial African Public Spaces 
2011: Sylvia Tamale, Whose Democracy are we Talking About? Non-Conforming Sexualities as a Metaphor for African Dictatorships
2010: Bereket Habte Selassie, Democracy and Peace in the Age of Globalization: Old Problems, New Challenges for Africa
2009: Tade Akin Aina, Beyond Reforms: The Politics of Higher Education Transformation in Africa
2008: Bethwell Ogot, Re-reading the History and Historiography of Epistimic Domination and Resistance in Africa
2007: Makau W. Mutua, Human Rights in Africa: The Limited Promise of Liberalism
2006: Amina Mama, Is it Ethical to Study Africa? Preliminary Thoughts on Scholarship and Freedom
2005: Abena Busia, What Is Africa To Me? Knowledge Possession, Knowledge Production, and the Health of our Bodies Politic in Africa and the African Diaspora
2004: Kofi Anyidoho, Playing GOD with WORD: LANGUAGE and POWER of SELF-NAMING
2003: Wande Abimbola, Youth and Generational Change in the Ifa Oral Tradition
2002: Jacob F Ade Ajayi, Title Not Available
2001: Atieno Odhiambo, The Cultural Dimensions of Development in Africa
2000: Mamphela Ramphele, Harnessing Africa’s Intellectual Capital for Sustainable Development: The Challenge of the 21st Century
1999: Boubacar Barry, Africans and the New Millennium
1998: Bolanle Awe,Title Not Available
1997: James David Rubadiri, Title Not Available
1996: Thandika Mkandawire, The Social Sciences in Africa: Breaking Local Barriers and Negotiating International Presence
1995: Gertrude Mongella, Title Not Available
1994: Paulin J. Hountondji, Title Not Available
1993: Ali A Mazrui, Global Africa: From Abolitionists to Reparationists