What Do you need !?

ASA Film Prize

The ASA Film Prize is for an outstanding film, whether fiction or documentary, made in the preceding two calendar years (2022, 2023) by an African filmmaker. The ASA is interested in innovative, probing, work that helps audiences think about social, political, economic, and cultural questions pertinent to the lives of Africans and dynamics on the African continent.

The award winner will be chosen by the ASA film prize committee and will be invited to attend the Annual Meeting for a screening of the winning film. The award will cover roundtrip economy class airfare, accommodation at the Annual Meeting hotel for up to four nights, per diem, and conference registration for the winning filmmaker.

Please note: By submitting a film to the prize committee for consideration, nominators are agreeing to waive any screening fees should the film be selected as a winner.


  • A film completed in the last 2 years. The film can be in circulation in festivals, for example, and/or take up by a distributor and in distribution.
  • Filmmakers or their distributors can submit nominations.
  • The director should be African, an African national though not necessarily resident on the continent.
  • Filmmakers can submit nominations at any stage in their career.
  • Films must be feature-length and with English subtitles.
  • Documentary or fiction (with an understanding that these distinctions are increasingly traversed in much film work today) are accepted.
  • Films should be directed to an audience that contains both specialists and generalists.
  • We encourage work in less commonly used African languages as long as English subtitles are included, and will also consider works in other languages as well.
  • We accept both Blu-Ray and DVD versions, or links such as Vimeo with a protected password.
ASA Film Prize committee

Carmela Garritano, Texas A & M University (Chair)
Allison McGuffie, University of Oregon
Alexie Tcheuyap, University of Toronto
Steven W. Thomas, Wagner College

Nominated films can be sent to:

Carmela Garritano at cgarritano[at]tamu.edu

To be considered, nominated films must be received or post-marked by April 30 annually

Past Winners

  • 2023 Winner

    Colette & Justin, Directed by Alain Kassanda (2022)

  • 2022 Winner

    When a Farm Goes Aflame, Directed by Jide Akinleminu

  • 2020 Winner

    Ar Condicionado (Air Conditioner), Directed by Fradique

  • 2019 Winner

    Whispering Truth to Power, Directed by Shameela Seedat


Please contact the ASA Secretariat directly at members@africanstudies.org for an official laurel with your year. Please include file format preference if not png. Runners-up are also available upon written request.