The ASA has set a fundraising goal of $100,000 to help support:

• The expansion of the ASA Presidential Fellows Program, with a goal of doubling the number of scholars based in African institutions that we are able to support to attend the Annual Meeting
• Funding for initiatives for the Emerging Scholars Network, including professional development opportunities
• Conferences and events in Africa – the 50th Anniversary Fund provided $20,000 in travel support for scholars to attend the first ever ASA meeting on the continent. We hope the 60th Anniversary Fund will provide similar support in future meetings
• Expansion of ASA advocacy programs and events
• Creation of a small grants program for ASA coordinate organizations

ASA members have already supported this initiative with donations totaling just under $15,000, putting us 15% toward our goal. Current funds raised would allow for:

• 4 additional Presidential Fellows to attend the Annual Meeting
• 7 travel subsidies to be given for the next ASA conference in Africa
• 15 awards to ASA members to attend advocacy conferences in Washington, DC
• 30 small grants for coordinate organizations

Do you want to see more of these, and other activities? Please consider supporting the 60th Anniversary Campaign today! Join the over 100 supporters of the 60th Anniversary Campaign – if you have not yet registered for your 2017 ASA membership or the Annual Meeting, please consider adding a donation when you register. If all ASA members contributed $60 to honor 60 years, we would surpass our $100,000 goal.

You can support the 60th Anniversary Campaign here, or when you register for ASA membership on the myASA portal. When you support the 60th Anniversary Campaign, make sure to check to see if your employer matches gifts – take your dollars further with a matching gift from your employer! If you have questions about employer gift matching, please contact the ASA at [email protected]

The ASA thanks the following members for their support of the 60th Anniversary Campaign:

Hadiza Abdulrahman
Olayiwola Abegunrin
Sabella Abidde
Nwando Achebe
Aderonke Adesanya
Ousseina Alidou
Eric Allina
Jean Allman
Ned Alpers
Charles Ambler
Kwasi Ampene
Nana Anyidoho
Andrew Apter
Alfred Babo
Paul Chiudza Banda
Sandra Barkan
Sandra Barnes
Fodei Batty
Ruby Bell-Gam
Iris Berger
Sara Berry
Kelly Duke Bryant
Judith Byfield
Maria Cattell
Brenda Chalfin
Alan Cobley
Ashley Currier
Hunt Davis, Jr.
Josephine Dawuni
Lynda Day
Souleymane Bachir Diagne
Deborah Durham
David Easterbrook
Jean Luc Enyegue
Toyin Falola
Pamela Feldman-Savelsberg
Mark Gardiner
Guluma Gemeda
Elizabeth Glaser
Victor Gomia
Maria Grosz-Ngate
Jane Guyer
Leslie Hadfield
Kathleen Hanenburg
Sean Hanretta
John Harbeson
Rebecca Hardin
Jennifer Hart
Gabrielle Hecht
Linda Heywood
Dorothy Hodgson
Allen Howard
Goran Hyden
Allen Isaacman
John Janzen
Lansine Kaba
Kasongo Kapanga
Martin Klein
Benjamin Lawrance
Macrina Lelei
Peter Little
Greg Maddox
Zoliswa Mali
Carol Martin
D.A. Masolo
Elisabeth McMahon
Joseph Miller
Kristen Moore
Marissa Moorman
Richard Mtisi
Robert Munson
Ruth Murambadoro
Fawzia Mustafa
Catharine Newbury
Susan O’Brien
Cyril Obi
Lilian Ekwutos Ohajunwa
Martin Ohajunwa
Opolot Okia
Sussie Okoro
Osaak Olumwullah
Mary Osirim
David Owusu-Ansah
Matthew Page
Michael Panzer
Jack Parson
Pauline Peters
Derek Peterson
Anne Pitcher
Catherine Lee Porter
Amy Poteete
James Pritchett
Tasha Rijke
Richard Roberts
Pearl T. Robinson
Reginald Royston
Naaborko Sackeyfio-Lenoch
Abdi Samatar
Eve Sandberg
Christine Schuetze
Idris Sharif
Kathleen Sheldon
Elizabeth Sperber
Koenradd Stroeken
Lessie Tate
Scott Taylor
Jeanne Toungara
Leslie Townsend
Aili Tripp
Robin Turner
Ernest Uwazie
Judith Van Allen
Stephen Volz
David S. Wiley and Christine E. Root
Jennifer Yanco
M. Crawford Young
Scott Youngstedt
Tafadzwa Zvobgo

PREVIOUS ARTICLE: Announcing the ASA Annual Meeting Podcast Series and YouTube Channel NEXT ARTICLE: Decisions of the ASA Board of Directors, March-June 2017